Monday, May 11, 2009

HOW TO INSTALL IE.INF 

Using the Windows XP Installation Disc to install IE.INF

Step 1 :- Insert your Windows XP installation disc into your CD drive. Should you have AutoPlay enabled, the computer may prompt you as to whether you wish to repair your current Windows XP installation; cancel this action and close any programs that have opened off of the disc. You'll simply need to access the files on the disc, not run the setup program itself.

Step 2:-  Open the Start menu and select the "Run" option. When the dialog box appears, type the following as a single line within it: 

rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132 c:\windows\inf\ie.inf

Click the OK button to run the program. (Should your installation of Windows XP not be located on the C: drive, modify the line to reflect the correct drive.)

Step 3:- Windows will use the ie.inf file located on your Windows XP installation disc to reinstall Internet Explorer 6.0 onto your computer. Once the installation is complete, reboot your computer to apply the new settings to your XP installation.

Using Installed Windows XP Files

Step 1:-  Click on the Start menu, but instead of selecting "Run," select "Search." Use the search option labeled "All Files and Folders." Select the "More Advanced Options" option and place a check in the box beside the "Search Hidden Files and Folders" option if one is not already present.

Step 2:- Type "ie.inf" into the search box. (This is the same file that you would be using if you were accessing the Windows XP installation disc in order to reinstall Internet Explorer.) Select the drive that your copy of Windows XP is installed on from the "Look In" menu, then click the button labeled "Search" to begin looking for the file.

Step 3 :- Look at the search results window and find the copy of ie.inf that is located in the Windows\Inf folder. Right-click the file and select the "Install" option from the menu that opens.

Step 4:- Once installation is complete, restart your computer so changes to your Windows XP installation are applied and Internet Explorer 6.0 works correctly.

Saturday, April 18, 2009

How to uninstall Client Services for Netware on Windows XP Professional ( Windows Login Screen )

Problem:-  Whenever you try to change classic version (Windows Login) and set it back to the original using the control panel, it says: "Client Services for Netware has disabled the Welcome screen and Fast User Switching. To restore these features , you must uninstall Client Services for Netware."

Solution:- (1) Click on  (Start) (2) Then go to (Control Panel) (3) Search for (Network and Internet Connections) or (Network Connections) or (Dial-up Connections) (4) Then you should see two sticking monitor icon, named (Local Area Connection). Right click on it then choose (Properties) (5) Then when you are in the Local Area Connections Properties dialog box, click on the (Client services for Netware) and it will be highlighted, then only you'll click (uninstall) (6) And then for sure you click (YES). if you can follow the steps until here you are finish, Congratulation, you can proceed to change your settings to the Fast User Switching option or the Welcome Screen option

Friday, April 3, 2009

How to Change Vista Password From Install DVD

********** CAUTION **********

Please make note that this handy tip is intended to recover/regain a forgotten Vista Administrator password. It is not intended to illegally hacking into a Vista system that’s not owned by users who refer this guide!! It is also intended to inform Vista users about the method by which anyone can access their private accounts by cracking passwords….Thus anyone can hack into administrator account and bypass guest user restrictions. I / We (transaircoms) wont take any type of  responsibility for any type of loss

Steps to Remove  Windows Vista Administrator account password:.

1.       Reboot the Windows Vista and boot up with Windows Vista installation DVD. Click on the Repair Your Computer option, bring up Command Prompt to open Local Users and Groups management in MMC.

2.       While the Windows Vista installation interface pops up, click the Repair You Computer link at the bottom-left corner.

3.       Next, the System Recovery Options dialog box appears. There are few options that related to repairing  Windows Vista,                 looks like Recovery Console in Windows XP:

a)       Startup Repair options is used to automatically fix problems that are preventing  Windows Vista from starting.

b)       System Restore :-  to restore Windows Vista setting to an earlier point in time.

c)       Windows Complete PC Restore to restore  Windows Vista from a full system backup.

d)       Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool could be the first Microsoft memory tester toolkit that bundled with Windows setup media.

e)       Command Prompt Click on this option now.

4         In the Windows Vista Command Prompt, type mmc.exe and press ENTER key to bring up theMicrosoft Management Console.

5         Click on the File menu, select Add / Remove Snap-in 

option, locate and select the Local Users and Groups on the left panel, and click Add button to add it to the right panel.

6         Now, the Choose Target Machine dialog box pop up. Keep the default setting by clicking the Finish button – that means using the Local Users and Groups snap-in to manage this local computer, and not another computer in network.

7         Click OK button and return to MMC windows. Under the Root Console in left panel, double-click Local Users and Group that was added earlier. Click on User folder, locate and right-click the target Vista logon account that found in the right panel.Select the Set Password from the right-click menu to set a new password / reset old password.

Cannot Update Windows using Windows Update

Run CCleaner to clear up PC Junk. Also flush the Software Distribution Folder. Reboot. If you are using WindowsUpdate try using MicrosoftUpdates and vice versa.

If you still cannot Update Windows Vista using WindowsUpdate, try this :

Open Internet Explorer > Tools >Internet Options > Security > Click 'trusted sites' icon >Click Sites > uncheck 'require server verification'.

Then add following sites :

http://*.windowsupdate.microsoft.com
http://*.windowsupdate.com
http://update.microsoft.com 
http://update.microsoft.com/microsoftupdate/v6/default.aspx

Click Close > Apply > OK. This is known to help the GenuineValidated Windows, in some cases, but not always.

 

Do also ensure that you have the latest Windows Update Agent installed.

Try to re-register the following dll's individually. See How to Register / Unregister dll's if you are not sure how to do it.

wuapi.dll
wuaueng.dll
wups.dll
wups2.dll
wuwebv.dll
wucltux.dll
wudriver.dll

Alternatively, open Notepad. Copy-Paste the following command lines into it and save the file using a .bat or .cmd extension.

regsvr32 /s wuapi.dll
regsvr32 /s wuaueng.dll
regsvr32 /s wups.dll
regsvr32 /s wups2.dll
regsvr32 /s wuwebv.dll
regsvr32 /s wucltux.dll
regsvr32 /s wudriver.dll

Double-click the icon of the .bat or .cmd file; command window will open. Run the commands, and then close. Reboot, and see if Windows Updates is working OK.

Also Open IE > Tools > Internet Options > Advanced > Security Settings > Ensure that the two boxes "Enable SSL 2" or "Enable SSL 3" are checked.

 

For more Info click on the link below

http://www.winvistaclub.com/t4.html

Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Cannot Set  "default device" for MIDI Music Playback in Control Panel under "Sounds and Audio Devices" 

When you open in Control Panel under "Sounds and Audio Devices" (Windows XP) the "default device" for MIDI Music Playback is blank and also your "default device" is blank. Even if you selected an option from the drop down list and pressed "Apply" then "OK", the settings would not be saved and next time you go back in, it would be blank again.

To resolve this issue please follow the steps mentioned bellow

Click Start >> Click on RUN >> Type >> regedit and press enter

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE  >>  SOFTWARE  >>  Microsoft  >>  Windows NT  >>  CurrentVersion  >>  drivers32  >>  midimapper  should be set tomidimap.dll

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE  >>  SOFTWARE  >>  Microsoft  >>  Windows NT  >>  CurrentVersion  >>  drivers32  >>  wavemapper  should be set tomsacm32.drv

For any reason if your not able to find midimapper and wavemapper Create a string for the same

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Windows XP Log in / log off loop 

Cause :- Wsaupdater.exe is spyware that changes Userinit.exe, to Wsaupdater.exe in the registry

Resolution :- Use Recovery Console to copy Userinit.exe to Wsaupdater.exe

1. At the Recovery Console command prompt, type cd system32, and then press ENTER.

2. Type copy userinit.exe wsaupdater.exe, and then press ENTER.

3. Type exit, and then press ENTER

Modify the registry

1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.

2. In Registry Editor, expand

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE  >>  SOFTWARE  >>  Microsoft  >>  Windows NT  >>  CurrentVersion  >>  Winlogon.

3. In the right pane, right-click userinit, and then click Modify.

4. Replace wsaupdater.exe with userinit.exe, (make sure to include the comma, as shown), and then click OK.

5. Restart your computer.

Delete the Wsaupdater.exe file

1. Log on to the computer by using an account that has administrator-level permissions.
2. Click Start, click Run, type%Windir%\system32, and then click OK.
3. Right-click wsaupdater.exe, click Delete, and then click OK.

Monday, March 9, 2009

MsWord 2007 freezes / Error message on exit

1. Open up Regedit. (Go to Start and type "regedit" in the search field and press enter.)

2. In Regedit navigate to HKEY_CURRENT_USER  >>  Software  >>  Microsoft  >>  Office  >>  12.0  >>  Word  >>  Data

3. Right mouse click on the "Data" folder and delete it.

4. Open up Word, close it, problem solved.

Note:

Even uninstalling and reinstalling Msword will not fix this issue